Within a course, you can find the advanced settings in the ‘options’ menu from your course screen. A pop-up will appear, where you can set permissions for staff and course members. All changes are saved automatically.
Find out more about the purpose of these settings here:
How do I create a project for my students?
What content is visible to the course members?
How do I invite and manage course members?
How do I manage topics and tags in my course?